If you use taxis or rideshare services like Uber, you may wonder what would happen if you are injured in an accident. In Texas, taxi cabs must be insured for a certain amount and Uber drivers must also carry extra insurance. As a passenger, you are able to seek compensation for any injuries you receive while riding in a taxi or Uber.
Insurance requirements for taxis and rideshare services
According to Texas laws, every taxi must have $300,000 in liability insurance coverage and $100,000 in accidental death coverage. Drivers for ridesharing companies that are engaged in providing a prearranged ride must have coverage that has the following.
- A total aggregate of $1 million for death, bodily injury, and property damage for every incident
- Uninsured or underinsured motorist insurance coverage as required by Section 1952.101
- Personal injury protection insurance coverage as required by Section 1952.152
These laws are different for rideshare company drivers that are able to access the network to find a passenger but are not engaged in transporting one. It is best to speak with a personal injury attorney to discuss the laws if you have been injured in an accident as a passenger.
Your rights as a passenger
As a passenger in any vehicle, you have rights if you were injured due to someone’s negligence. Unlike claims from drivers who were injured by other drivers, passengers most likely do not have to be concerned about comparative negligence. But, the rights you have are similar.
Passengers can receive compensation
If you have been injured in a car accident as a passenger, you can get compensation in a variety of situations. These include when the driver of another vehicle caused an accident or the driver of your vehicle caused the wreck. Both drivers can also be held responsible if they both caused the car accident. Finally, if no at-fault driver has proper insurance, your own uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance coverage can help. You may be able to seek the following damages.
- Lost wages
- Medical bills
- Ongoing medical care costs
- Pain and suffering
- Out-of-pocket costs
- Property damage
A personal injury attorney can help you if you think you may be able to file a claim. These professionals understand the laws regarding passenger injuries as well as laws related to taxi and rideshare car accidents.
Working with a personal injury attorney
Choosing to work with a personal injury attorney after a car wreck caused by someone else’s negligence is important. You will need to prepare by having witness statements, contact information, and medical records of your injuries. Your attorney will inform you of everything you need to have a successful claim. The basics are similar to drivers who have been the victim of a car accident.
Call on Attorney Dean Boyd in Amarillo and Lubbock
If you have been in a car accident as a passenger, call Attorney Dean Boyd and his caring Team. We have the experience, knowledge, and dedication to fight for your rights. You can reach us at (806) 242-3333 or Contact Us by email to learn more about getting a free consultation and about our Services. You can also visit us in person at 4423 SW 45th Ave in Amarillo, Texas or 10623 Quaker Ave #102 in Lubbock, Texas.